Fall Focus

I like summer, but I love fall. The cooler air energizes me and refocuses me. It’s a great time for me to set new goals for the coming year. For me this means fitness goals and roller derby goals, although often they go hand in hand. 

Last year my goals were to work on my agility off skates and to improve my blocking and footwork skills on skates. With the help of my coaches and teammates I feel I was able to accomplish these goals. I even received MVP blocker in my last game of the season. 

So what are my goals for this year. Well first of all I would like to make the Travel A team this year. But my big goal is to work on my all around derby play. I would like to be a triple threat. Blocker. Pivot. Jammer. 

For blocking I need to work on delivering effective offence. My timing just isn’t there and I feeel I am not helping most of the time. 

For Pivot its the same thing, but add in awareness of when I should be ready for a star pass. 

For Jamming, its practicing little tips and tricks until they become muscle memory. Things like toe stop hops, changing tempo and I would like to not chicken out on apex jumps. 

So what fitness goals do I need to work on to help me out with my derby goals. I need to find a fitness routine that will combine strength, balance, agility and power into one. But it also can’t be so rigorous that I burn myself out. This wll be a challenge. 

For now I am using the Nike+ Training Club ap again as it seems to offer all these things in their workouts; however, I know I will need to change it up. I will have to do some research or just develop my own workouts to acheive my goals. 

Leave a Reply

